Spectra plus crypto board in a Saber?

Forum for the promotion and understanding of digital voice on the amateur bands.

Moderator: Global Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
KC9UZB
98247E-011480-1
Posts: 1289
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:10 am
Location: Artist formerly known as M3ECM (Indiana)
Contact:

Spectra plus crypto board in a Saber?

Post by KC9UZB » Sun Jun 15, 2008 8:12 am

I have a spectra plus here with an XL/OFB combo board in it. I have an AS3 that has the XL board but no OFB...but I need that radio to have OFB. Can I swap these out?

Are there any problems in my plan?
KC9UZB - ex M3ECM - expat dirty socialist Brit

User avatar
akardam
King of the Geeks
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 5:45 pm
Location: People's Republik of Khalifournia

Re: Spectra plus crypto board in a Saber?

Post by akardam » Sun Jun 15, 2008 11:24 pm

I don't believe AS+ and regular Astro Spectra/Astro Saber crypto modules can be interchanged, an AS+ essentially being a slightly newer generation of radio.

Check your PM's.
KG6SLY | Broadcasting Around the Galaxy Around the Clock
Oh come on. This isn't shooting fish in a barrel, this is dropping a tactical nuke on a bucket full of carp.

User avatar
KC9UZB
98247E-011480-1
Posts: 1289
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:10 am
Location: Artist formerly known as M3ECM (Indiana)
Contact:

Re: Spectra plus crypto board in a Saber?

Post by KC9UZB » Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:18 am

Ray. I've had it on good authority that it won't work, and getting part numbers requires me to lift the skirt on my AS+ and peek at her :D

That also requires me to not be a lazy twat.

Peter. Replied. Thx.
KC9UZB - ex M3ECM - expat dirty socialist Brit

Post Reply