D-STAR

Forum for the promotion and understanding of digital voice on the amateur bands.

Moderator: Global Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
viradio
MOT1
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:05 am
Location: Watching your Six!

D-STAR

Post by viradio » Mon Jan 31, 2005 6:10 am

G'day all.

I have two D-STAR units for my emergency program and was wondering if any one has this type of equipment.

Also I am going to be connecting WiFi into our D-STAR network for Internet connectivity at Reception Centers.

Plus we have 4 other units ( 2 back to back) we are using as repeaters.

Any thought ideas...

Cheer's Glen VE7SDX
Communications Coordinator
Victoria Emergency Program
Cheer's Glen
"You talk the talk, do you walk the walk!"

User avatar
kv5e
2135
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:44 am
Location: EM12qt

Post by kv5e » Mon Jan 31, 2005 7:15 am

The DStar ethernet bridges are easily overrun with extraneous packets from the WAN side so I recommend that if you are going to connect them to pass Internet data that you NAT the Internet side with some kind of router.

I would join the http://www.icomamerica.com/support/forums/

DStar froum at the above URL for additional confguration information on the interconnectivity testing with the ethernet bridges that is ongoing.

Good luck and remember to use a crossover cable when interconnecting two of the ID-1(s) as a high speed data repeater.

kv5e
WILSON WILSON, GREEN, WE HAVE RAWHIDE ARRIVAL, NO PRESS, NO PROTESTORS

Post Reply