Help me loose my P25 cherry..

Forum for the promotion and understanding of digital voice on the amateur bands.

Moderator: Global Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Polar_Rescue
102480-000000-3
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Northampton, PA
Contact:

Help me loose my P25 cherry..

Post by Polar_Rescue » Sun Jul 29, 2007 9:11 pm

Ok, i am ready to loose my P25 cherry and upgrade my radios.. I am familiar with the XTS5000 radios with Q52 as we use them with FEMA.. however i have little expierence with the XTS3000.. I understand that they are CPS programable with the same cable as the MTS/HT1000 serise..

Flashcode.. i have seen 4.--- and 8.--- what should i look for? the higher the better i assume..

I have seen XTS UHF mod 2's on fleabay in the 650ish $$ range.. how are these for pricing?

I would prefer to purchase from a hamsexy aproved vendor.. any thoughts?

Any help from the hamsexual community would be appreciated

User avatar
K8TEK
FTW FOR THE WIN....
Posts: 1135
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:53 am
Location: Continental, OH
Contact:

Re: Help me loose my P25 cherry..

Post by K8TEK » Sun Jul 29, 2007 9:29 pm

Polar_Rescue wrote:Flashcode.. i have seen 4.--- and 8.--- what should i look for? the higher the better i assume..
Huh? Now I'm confused
43686164697353757841636f7264734b6f6b0d0a

User avatar
Polar_Rescue
102480-000000-3
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Northampton, PA
Contact:

Re: Help me loose my P25 cherry..

Post by Polar_Rescue » Sun Jul 29, 2007 9:45 pm

K8TEK wrote:
Polar_Rescue wrote:Flashcode.. i have seen 4.--- and 8.--- what should i look for? the higher the better i assume..
Huh? Now I'm confused
What did i say that confused you... maybe i used the wrong motolingo.. firmware is was thinking of...
VIVA La HAMSEXY!

-- POLAR_RESCUE --

User avatar
n3jfw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5969
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 1:55 am

Post by n3jfw » Sun Jul 29, 2007 10:18 pm

mancow had a model 3 for sale
N3JFW 4:29 pm
(4:29:48 PM): so he's gay huh
(nameless ham) 4:30 pm
(4:30:02 PM): haha no, but he is a music major
N3JFW 4:30 pm
(4:30:15 PM): so he's still in the closet

User avatar
KC9UZB
98247E-011480-1
Posts: 1289
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:10 am
Location: Artist formerly known as M3ECM (Indiana)
Contact:

Post by KC9UZB » Mon Jul 30, 2007 4:18 am

Advice I was given (and it's true) is make sure your flash starts with an ODD number...

Once you have your flash, Radioreference has a flashcode decoder.

Have a quick read through the first page of my "Help a newbie" thread.

User avatar
mr.syntrx
98247E-211491-4
Posts: 3970
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:24 am
Location: HI HI FINE BUSINESS OLD MAN THERE ON THE FINE BUSINESS HIHI QSL
Contact:

Post by mr.syntrx » Mon Jul 30, 2007 5:11 am

The RR flashcode decoder sucks balls compared to Akardam's.

http://www.akardam.net/moto/decode3.pl

User avatar
10-95
living the hamsexy dream
Posts: 765
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 5:48 pm

Post by 10-95 » Mon Jul 30, 2007 7:39 am

M3ECM wrote:Advice I was given (and it's true) is make sure your flash starts with an ODD number...

Once you have your flash, Radioreference has a flashcode decoder.

Have a quick read through the first page of my "Help a newbie" thread.

Flashcode starting with a 5 is good. That would indicate IMBE operation and digitlal ID display. Heck on the AS3 and XTS3000 jUST imbe operation would be good, you could always drop in a codeplug with a decent flash later.

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Cock Block
Posts: 6671
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 8:53 pm
Location: Stinkadena, TX

Post by motorola_otaku » Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:49 am

Few quick 'n easy things to remember:
-First digit of the flashcode is either 1 or 5.
-Minimum HOST version 05.xx
-Minimum DSP version N06.xx (The N letter is critical. If it's A, it's analog-only.)

If the seller can't provide you with the above information, move on.

The HOST/DSP versions are the minimum required for IMBE P25 operation. Shaun & others will be along shortly to tell you what utter shit it is and how much better HOST7/DSP8 is, but it'll get you playing.

MattSR
102480-000000-3
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:03 pm

Post by MattSR » Mon Jul 30, 2007 5:15 pm

I once saw 4.00.01 in an ASTRO saber over here... Can't recall exactly which DSP was pair with it, though it was definitely N6.xx.xx

User avatar
K8TEK
FTW FOR THE WIN....
Posts: 1135
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:53 am
Location: Continental, OH
Contact:

Post by K8TEK » Mon Jul 30, 2007 8:41 pm

motorola_otaku wrote:(The N letter is critical. If it's A, it's analog-only.)
N or I. Stay away from A or M revision DSP.

User avatar
Polar_Rescue
102480-000000-3
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Northampton, PA
Contact:

Post by Polar_Rescue » Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:30 pm

[/quote]


Flashcode starting with a 5 is good. That would indicate IMBE operation and digitlal ID display. Heck on the AS3 and XTS3000 jUST imbe operation would be good, you could always drop in a codeplug with a decent flash later.
[/quote]

So let me see if i understand this right... I buy a XTS3000 with a low flash on the codeplug read from the radio, i can get another codeplug from the same model radio with a newer flash and blow it into my radio and the features from that flash will now be in my radio?

tvsjr
Moderator - Dayton 2006/2007 Supporter
Posts: 2830
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 5:03 pm

Post by tvsjr » Tue Jul 31, 2007 12:42 am

r0f wrote:
Polar_Rescue wrote: So let me see if i understand this right... I buy a XTS3000 with a low flash on the codeplug read from the radio, i can get another codeplug from the same model radio with a newer flash and blow it into my radio and the features from that flash will now be in my radio?
The flashport features (flashcode) will transfer over. The firmware won't.

Also--you must be aware of this--when you clone in another codeplug, two important things get overwritten:

- Your serial number (donor serial)
- Your digital pot/tuning settings. BACK THESE UP FIRST via the service menu, and restore later.
In some instances, there are ways around the first issue.

User avatar
K8TEK
FTW FOR THE WIN....
Posts: 1135
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:53 am
Location: Continental, OH
Contact:

Post by K8TEK » Tue Jul 31, 2007 12:52 am

Ok, to simplify things, make sure HOST is ≥ R04.00.00 and DSP is begins with F, I or N and is ≥06.00.00

HOST R07.70.00 is about the newest
DSP 08.03.03 is the newest
43686164697353757841636f7264734b6f6b0d0a

User avatar
10-95
living the hamsexy dream
Posts: 765
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 5:48 pm

Post by 10-95 » Tue Jul 31, 2007 8:01 am

K8TEK wrote:Ok, to simplify things, make sure HOST is ≥ R04.00.00 and DSP is begins with F, I or N and is ≥06.00.00

HOST R07.70.00 is about the newest
DSP 08.03.03 is the newest
Newest host I've seen is 7.71 paired with DSPN 08.03.03

User avatar
Polar_Rescue
102480-000000-3
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Northampton, PA
Contact:

Post by Polar_Rescue » Tue Jul 31, 2007 9:29 am

r0f wrote:
Polar_Rescue wrote: So let me see if i understand this right... I buy a XTS3000 with a low flash on the codeplug read from the radio, i can get another codeplug from the same model radio with a newer flash and blow it into my radio and the features from that flash will now be in my radio?
The flashport features (flashcode) will transfer over. The firmware won't.

Also--you must be aware of this--when you clone in another codeplug, two important things get overwritten:

- Your serial number (donor serial)
- Your digital pot/tuning settings. BACK THESE UP FIRST via the service menu, and restore later.
Ok this is good info... So how about this.. If i found a XTS5000, read the codeplug from a XTS5000 we use with the feds that has Q52 and some other fed only features, and blew it in to my personal xts5000 it will look and act the same including serial numbers. minus the firmware and dsp?

User avatar
Polar_Rescue
102480-000000-3
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Northampton, PA
Contact:

Post by Polar_Rescue » Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:17 am

r0f wrote:
Polar_Rescue wrote: Ok this is good info... So how about this.. If i found a XTS5000, read the codeplug from a XTS5000 we use with the feds that has Q52 and some other fed only features, and blew it in to my personal xts5000 it will look and act the same including serial numbers. minus the firmware and dsp?
How do you propose writing the codeplug into your XTS 5000?

ASTRO Depot/Lab tool software does NOT work with ASTRO25 radios.

If we could do what you propose, there would be a lot of people wanking off right about now.
I have access to the CPS for the XTS5000, I never said anyting about the LAB software. my question is this.. if i read a XTS with the CPS. that radio has Q52 and other features my radio does not. If i then save that codeplug and then load it into my basic XTS5000 with the CPS the Q52 and other features will be there?
Or will i need the ASTRO P25 Lab software?
VIVA La HAMSEXY!

-- POLAR_RESCUE --

User avatar
10-95
living the hamsexy dream
Posts: 765
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 5:48 pm

Post by 10-95 » Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:46 am

Polar_Rescue wrote:
r0f wrote:
Polar_Rescue wrote: Ok this is good info... So how about this.. If i found a XTS5000, read the codeplug from a XTS5000 we use with the feds that has Q52 and some other fed only features, and blew it in to my personal xts5000 it will look and act the same including serial numbers. minus the firmware and dsp?
How do you propose writing the codeplug into your XTS 5000?

ASTRO Depot/Lab tool software does NOT work with ASTRO25 radios.

If we could do what you propose, there would be a lot of people wanking off right about now.
I have access to the CPS for the XTS5000, I never said anyting about the LAB software. my question is this.. if i read a XTS with the CPS. that radio has Q52 and other features my radio does not. If i then save that codeplug and then load it into my basic XTS5000 with the CPS the Q52 and other features will be there?
Or will i need the ASTRO P25 Lab software?
You never get the radio to except it, different feature sets, you'll get an error .

User avatar
Polar_Rescue
102480-000000-3
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Northampton, PA
Contact:

Post by Polar_Rescue » Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:14 pm

r0f wrote:Yah, what Frank said.

I'm not insulting you, Polar_Rescue, but do you think Motorola would be so stupid they'd allow you to clone flashport features across radios by simply using a codeplug from another radio? (The answer is YES for older ASTRO radios...)

Notice there are very few whore-flashed 5000's on eBay. With that said, make no mistake about it--the ASTRO25 line is hacked, but the methods and people who can do it are not very public at all.
No your not insulting me, thats why i had a very stiff WTF face here.. I was confused by a comment that R0F made "The flashport features (flashcode) will transfer over" was previousley made regarding loading a codeplug from another radio... i guess i just need to buy one and start playing with it, figgure this out on my own..
VIVA La HAMSEXY!

-- POLAR_RESCUE --

User avatar
Polar_Rescue
102480-000000-3
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Northampton, PA
Contact:

Post by Polar_Rescue » Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:08 pm

r0f wrote:Polar_Rescue...ASTRO radios are hackable with leaked copies of lab/depot RSS software. (Runs in MS-DOS environment). This software allows you to force a codeplug/s-record into an XTS 3000, ASTRO Digital Saber or ASTRO Digital Spectra.

Regular ASTRO software does not allow you to hack.

If you're talking XTS 5000s, they're not hackable unless you're in secret handshake circles...
Got ya! that totaly makes sense... I think i even have the astro lab i picked off of hackersrussia before they got shut down...

Thanks for everyones help.. i am sure once i pick one up off of fleabay i will be back asking more questions..

Whats a ok price for a XTS3000 full face UHF low split ??? 550? 650? assuming recent host and dsp versions..
VIVA La HAMSEXY!

-- POLAR_RESCUE --

MattSR
102480-000000-3
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:03 pm

Post by MattSR » Tue Jul 31, 2007 9:46 pm

r0f wrote:If you're talking XTS 5000s, they're not hackable unless you're in secret handshake circles...
Ive spent many hours pondering how this was done - the ans wer I keep coming up with is there is a hacking tool that has been leaked/developed for the ASTRO25 line that isn't commonly available.

User avatar
10-95
living the hamsexy dream
Posts: 765
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 5:48 pm

Post by 10-95 » Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:01 pm

MattSR wrote:
r0f wrote:If you're talking XTS 5000s, they're not hackable unless you're in secret handshake circles...
Ive spent many hours pondering how this was done - the ans wer I keep coming up with is there is a hacking tool that has been leaked/developed for the ASTRO25 line that isn't commonly available.
BINGO! :baby:

User avatar
Polar_Rescue
102480-000000-3
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Northampton, PA
Contact:

Got one!

Post by Polar_Rescue » Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:58 pm

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0139381006

Got one! so did i get a good deal or did i get shafted..

User avatar
10-95
living the hamsexy dream
Posts: 765
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 5:48 pm

Post by 10-95 » Wed Aug 01, 2007 8:09 pm

Looks nice. Pretty decent flash too!

User avatar
Polar_Rescue
102480-000000-3
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Northampton, PA
Contact:

Post by Polar_Rescue » Wed Aug 01, 2007 8:21 pm

I have my paws on the Astro 25 Portable CPS 7... whats the current version of the CPS on the market?

I need to know what to ask around for... :baby:

Chris
VIVA La HAMSEXY!

-- POLAR_RESCUE --

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Cock Block
Posts: 6671
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 8:53 pm
Location: Stinkadena, TX

Re: Got one!

Post by motorola_otaku » Wed Aug 01, 2007 11:51 pm

Polar_Rescue wrote:http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0139381006

Got one! so did i get a good deal or did i get shafted..
$500 is fair for that radio in that condition, with that firmware. A big + on buying a model 2 is that when it comes time to upgrade it to a model 3, you already have the display.. the most expensive part required. You can also sell the model 2 housing and keypad and recoup some of your losses.

edit: Also, that guy is known for selling at jacked-up prices, so you did especially good dealing with him.
And the sign says you got to have a membership card to get inside.

User avatar
Polar_Rescue
102480-000000-3
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Northampton, PA
Contact:

Post by Polar_Rescue » Thu Aug 02, 2007 11:35 am

Thanks, i did see a blurb about him on the "good bad seller" part of the forum.. so i figured it woudlnt hurt to haggle with him..

Now all i need to do is track down the Astro CPS software.. I have everything else.. I thougt this beast took the same CPS as the XTS5000, the Astro25 CPS... I have an offsite back up of that one.. we use that for the FED stuff i am involved with.

Thanks to everyone for their help with the quest to loose my P25 "cherry"..I feel moto-violated!
VIVA La HAMSEXY!

-- POLAR_RESCUE --

Post Reply