Anyone need an IMPRES bank charger?

Forum for the promotion and understanding of digital voice on the amateur bands.

Moderator: Global Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
richard
DAYTON 2006/2007 SUPPORTER
Posts: 984
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:20 pm
Location: NY, ON

Anyone need an IMPRES bank charger?

Post by richard » Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:26 pm

I remember someone saying they were looking for one at Dayton.

This seems like a pretty good price for one, if someone needs one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/MOTOROLA-WPLN4108BR ... dZViewItem

User avatar
richard
DAYTON 2006/2007 SUPPORTER
Posts: 984
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:20 pm
Location: NY, ON

Post by richard » Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:27 pm

And here's another one even cheaper:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Motorola-impres-Mul ... dZViewItem

User avatar
Mong
9A247E-211493-9
Posts: 5460
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 2:29 am
Location: Mesquite TX

Re: Anyone need an IMPRES bank charger?

Post by Mong » Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:35 pm

richard wrote:I remember someone saying they were looking for one at Dayton.

This seems like a pretty good price for one, if someone needs one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/MOTOROLA-WPLN4108BR ... dZViewItem


That guy is only 30 miles away from me :baby:

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Cock Block
Posts: 6671
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 8:53 pm
Location: Stinkadena, TX

Post by motorola_otaku » Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:54 pm

Neither of them state which firmware revision they're loaded with, and it doesn't look like either of them have display modules (and yes, I know the second one is a stock pic, but still.) Both of those can be remedied, but still, that explains the cheapness.
And the sign says you got to have a membership card to get inside.

User avatar
Mong
9A247E-211493-9
Posts: 5460
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 2:29 am
Location: Mesquite TX

Post by Mong » Thu Aug 16, 2007 11:06 pm

The pic of the box on the 1st one has V3.40.

KC8RYW
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2697
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 1:45 pm
Location: 10-20

Post by KC8RYW » Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:07 am

Yea, the displays are like ~$100 from Ma /\/\.

User avatar
mr.syntrx
98247E-211491-4
Posts: 3970
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:24 am
Location: HI HI FINE BUSINESS OLD MAN THERE ON THE FINE BUSINESS HIHI QSL
Contact:

Post by mr.syntrx » Fri Aug 17, 2007 5:08 am

What does a new one with displays go for?

User avatar
akardam
King of the Geeks
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 5:45 pm
Location: People's Republik of Khalifournia

Post by akardam » Fri Aug 17, 2007 7:04 am

A WPLN4130A (rack charger w/ displays already installed) from the Motoroler will set you back 1350USD at list.

Presuming these things work, they're a real bargin. Figure 275USD including shipping, plus 6 displays at list (95USD) is only 845USD total for a fully loaded impres rack charger - not bad at all.

As for upgrading the firmware, we (Hamsexy) have a few, how shall we say, service depots :baby: throughout the continental U.S. Or you can slap down some benjamins for the flash kit yourself, and download the latest firmware from MOL.

User avatar
Mong
9A247E-211493-9
Posts: 5460
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 2:29 am
Location: Mesquite TX

Post by Mong » Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:14 am

I think if I bought one, I'd just add a display to one or two banks. I must be a cheap dude :baby:

User avatar
akardam
King of the Geeks
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 5:45 pm
Location: People's Republik of Khalifournia

Post by akardam » Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:22 am

Mong wrote:I think if I bought one, I'd just add a display to one or two banks. I must be a cheap dude
*shrug* It's what I did. I only have 4 impres batteries that I cycle on one radio (and they're super cap so I only cycle them once a week at the most).

Will eventually trick all slots out w/ displays as funds are available, plus special projects of course.
KG6SLY | Broadcasting Around the Galaxy Around the Clock
Oh come on. This isn't shooting fish in a barrel, this is dropping a tactical nuke on a bucket full of carp.

tvsjr
Moderator - Dayton 2006/2007 Supporter
Posts: 2830
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 5:03 pm

Post by tvsjr » Fri Aug 17, 2007 11:31 am

Mong wrote:I think if I bought one, I'd just add a display to one or two banks. I must be a cheap dude :baby:
Moto actually sells a configuration with a 6-pos charger with only 1 display... now, mine has 6 displays because I'm pimpin like that :baby:, but you really only need 1.

ka8ypy
Administrator
Posts: 3490
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:01 pm
Location: Fine Business and HI HI
Contact:

Re: Anyone need an IMPRES bank charger?

Post by ka8ypy » Fri Aug 17, 2007 4:03 pm

richard wrote:I remember someone saying they were looking for one at Dayton.

This seems like a pretty good price for one, if someone needs one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/MOTOROLA-WPLN4108BR ... dZViewItem
I bought one from him a year or so ago, works fine.....no problems.

I might have to get a spare..... :baby:
I will always place the mission first.
I will never accept defeat.
I will never quit.
I will never leave a fallen commrade

Post Reply